Skip to main content

Add a manager, editor or Studio viewer to your YouTube channel

If your YouTube channel is on your main Google account you can use the new Permissions option to give channel managers or editors limited access. As the channel owner, you can choose how much access they have to your YouTube Studio.

There are four permission levels:
  • Manager:  Edit channel details, upload videos, post comments in Studio. Add or remove other managers and editors.
  • Editor: Edit all channel details, upload videos, post comments in Studio.
  • Viewer:  View channel details. Cannot edit channel details.
  • Viewer (limited):  View all channel details except revenue information. Cannot edit channel details.
Update April 14, 2020: Managers and Editors can now reply to comments on your channel's behalf

Only Managers are able to see what other accounts Manager, Editor or Viewer access. Managers cannot delete or transfer the channel.

Note that currently managers, editors and viewers will not have access to everything:
  • Cannot access features that are not yet in YouTube Studio, such as End Screens
  • Cannot act as the channel outside of YouTube Studio, for example to leave comments on a video page.
  • Cannot access Live Control Room
  • Cannot access the channel in the YouTube mobile app
  • Cannot access the channel in the YouTube Studio mobile app
If your channel is on a Brand Account, you will not be able to use the new Permissions, but you can add Managers. Brand Account Managers have access to view and edit your entire channel and can respond to comments.

Watch for an overview of how to give others access to your YouTube channel:

Read on for detailed instructions for adding a manager, editor or viewer and what to do if you have been invited to access a channel.

How to add a anager, Editor or Viewer to your YouTube channel

You can invite any Google account to be a manager, editor or viewer of your channel's YouTube Studio.  Note that the new Permissions are not available to channels on a Brand Account.

Also, be aware that there isn't any way to retract the invitation once it is set. You can remove someone once the invitation has been accepted.

1. Sign in to YouTube on desktop and open YouTube Studio (studio.youtube.com)

2. Click the Settings gear on the left menu

3. When the Settings pop up, select Permissions
4. On the Permissions screen, click Invite at top right
5. Enter the invitee's email address and select the type of Access, then click Done

6. When you are done inviting people, click Save on the Permissions screen.

When you return to the Permissions screen, it will show those users as Invited and display their Google account profile photo.
Invitees have 30 days to accept the invitation.  If you move your cursor over the invite status, it will show how many days they have remaining until the invitation expires.
As the Owner or Manager, you can remove access or change the access level of any user:
1. Open Permissions in YouTube Studio
2. Click the current Access level next to a user.
3. Select Remove access or the new Access level.
4. Save changes when you are done.

Accept an invitation to be a YouTube channel Manager, Editor or Viewer

If you are invited to be a channel Manager, Editor or Viewer, you will receive an email from YouTube with the invite.
Make sure that the email is actually from YouTube. The email will be sent from the noreply@youtube.com email address.
Click the blue Accept Invitation button within 30 days to accept the invite.
  • You do NOT need to be signed into YouTube with the account that received the invite to accept the invite. 
  • You do NOT need to have a YouTube channel to accept the invite. However, if you are signed into YouTube without a channel at the time you click the button to accept the invitation, you may be prompted to create one.
When you successfully accept the invitation, YouTube will open and you will see an "All Set" notice.

Click Go to Channel to start acting as the channel Editor or Manager, or view the channel's YouTube Studio.

Act as a channel Manager, Editor or Viewer

You can only access a channel as the Manager, Editor or Viewer in YouTube Studio.

1. Sign in to YouTube Studio on desktop (studio.youtube.com)

2. Click your channel icon at top right

3. Select Switch Account

4. Select the channel to manage, edit or view from the list. 
     
Once you have switched, you will see your permission level under your channel icon at top right.

Features you do not have access to will be greyed out.

You can remove yourself at any time by signing in to the channel's YouTube Studio and going to Settings > Permissions and selecting the Remove access option.

Learn More

Comments

  1. Beyond excellent step by step tutorial! Thank you for being absolutely precise with YouTube Brand account specifics, Peggy! I'm adding this resource to my "Brand Account: YouTube Start" article.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad you found it helpful Nina! It's nice that non-Brand Accounts now have this option.

      Delete
  2. Hi Peggy, first of all this is a great step by step tuturial and has explained a lot so thanks for that! I am trying to set up a football academy channel where we upload our videos oof training and matches. At the moment the age group is under 11's so we as coaches only want the content as private for now so only we can see it. I have added one of my coaches as a Viewer and they have accepted the invite but they can only see. The content when it is public. When I change it to private they can no longer see the video so I am struggling to understand thee point of being a Viewer and was wondering if you could advise firstly if it'd possible to do what we are trying to set up and secondly if you can advise how this is done?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So the "Viewer" in this case is someone who can view the settings, analytics, video list, etc. It's mostly for creators who want to provide their stats to someone without giving them any control over their content.

      If you want to share private videos, you need to add people specifically using their Google account email address. There are instructions for sharing a private video here: support.google.com/youtube/answer/157177

      The alternative is to make your video "unlisted". That means that it's only viewable to someone who has the video link. It doesn't appear on the channel.

      Delete
  3. I have accepted the manager invite to edit videos posted by my boss but the capability to add cards has been grayed out. Is there a fix for this? I am able to edit the end screen but cannot access the cards screen.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I believe the reason why you can't access Cards as a manager is because it's technically still part of "Classic" YouTube Studio. The good news is that YouTube is working to finish moving all features to current YouTube Studio as soon as possible.

      Delete
  4. Hi!!
    I tried but i couldn't find the option of permission anywhere. :(

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If your YouTube channel is on a Brand Account, it will not have this option. You can only add managers in this way if your channel is on your main Google account.

      Delete
  5. Hello! I was wondering if an Editor can add subtitles or captions to the already published YouTube videos. Thank you for this tutorial!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Ian, apologies for missing your question. I am not sure if Editors currently have access to the caption editor. That would depend on whether the editor is currently available in new Studio, or if it reverts back to classic - if it's in classic, the Editor won't have access. I haven't edited captions for a while, so I'm not sure which it is currently.

      Delete

Post a Comment

data-matched-content-ui-type="image_card_stacked"