Skip to main content

Transfer ownership of your legacy YouTube channel to a different Google account: Link to a Google+ Page

Update 17 March 2015: now you can move your Google+-connected channel to a different Google+ Profile or Page. Learn how to move your channel here: Transfer you YouTube channel to a different Google+ Profile or Page

Until this week, most YouTube channels that were created before May 2009 - so-called "legacy" accounts - could be moved from one Google account to another. Now YouTube is providing a different option: link your YouTube channel to a Google+ Page, and transfer ownership of that Page to the new owner's account.


If you open the advanced settings (www.youtube.com/account_advanced) of your legacy YouTube channel you should still see the option to "Change which Google Account is linked to this account".

Clicking "Change Google Accounts" takes you to www.youtube.com/my_account_unlink which now prompts you to link your YouTube channel to a Google+ Page.

Want to sign in to your channel with a different Google Account? Connect your channel to a Google+ page to add more channel manager accounts or transfer ownership of your channel.

If you choose to link your YouTube channel to a Google+ Page at this step, you will see a prompt to update your channel identity like this:

There should be at least three options: Keep your YouTube username (which creates a Google+ Page titled with your YouTube username), Choose a better name (which creates a Google+ Page with a new name), or Use your Google+ profile name (which links your channel to a personal Google+ Profile). The name of your YouTube channel will be the same as the Google+ Page or Profile that it's linked to.

If you want to be able to transfer ownership of your YouTube channel to a different Google account, you must link your channel to a Google+ Page.

A Google+ Page and its associated YouTube channel can have up to 50 different managers. After two weeks 24 hours, a manager of the Page can be promoted to owner. Ownership of the YouTube channel will be transferred along with the Page.

So what's the catch?

• After 14 days the link between your YouTube channel and its Google+ Page becomes permanent.

• You will not be able to link your YouTube channel to a Google+ Profile on a different Google account.

• Also be aware that Google+ Page name changes are limited to 3 changes per calendar year. That means you need to pick a name for your Google+ Page and YouTube channel that you would be happy to stick with for a while.

If you run into trouble you can contact YouTube 1:1 support for assistance.


Additional information: 

Options for updating your YouTube channel's account to a Google+ Page.

YouTube Help: Manage channels linked to a Google+ Page

Google+ Help: Transfer ownership of your Page

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

How to find your shared Hangout photo albums

Update July 2016: Picasa Web Albums will be retired August 1st. You can find your Hangout photo albums in the new Google Album Archive (get.google.com/albumarchive). (Learn more)

Update July 2015: Google+ Photos will be retired July 29th. You can find your Hangout photo albums in Picasa Web Albums (picasaweb.google.com).

Update November 2015: links to Google+ Photos now redirect to Google Photos (photos.google.com). There is no way to access Hangouts albums in Google Photos.

When you share a photo in a Google Hangout chat or take a photo in a video call it is added to a shared photo album that is visible to you and anyone else in the Hangout.

Hangouts photos are not displayed in the new Google Photos (photos.google.com). However you can find your Hangouts albums in Google+ Photo albums or Picasa Web Albums the Google Album Archive (get.google.com/albumarchive).Find shared Hangouts albums in Google+ Photo albumsin your own Google+ Photo albumsin someone else's Google+ Photo albumsFin…

How to Disable or Mute Replies to your YouTube Comments

NOTE October 2015: The option to disable replies is only available for comments you can view on Google+ - posted between November 2013 and August 2015. It is still possible to disable all replies to your comments in the Google+ settings for the Page or Profile connected to your channel under "Who can comment on your public posts?".As YouTube separates from Google+ that option may disappear, and I'll try to keep this post up-to-date.

----------
Do you like posting YouTube comments, but hate the replies? You can easily disable replies - or mute notifications of replies - after posting your comment, as long as you can find your comment post on Google+.

You have two options:

1. Disable replies to all your YouTube comments and Google+ posts in your Google+ settings

2. Disable replies to individual YouTube comments by changing the settings on that post on Google+

Yes, you'll have to visit Google+, but only for as long as it takes to change the settings (and you might disco…

Embed YouTube livestream and live chat on your blog or website

So you're planning a live broadcast - that's excellent! Now that your Live event or Hangout on Air is scheduled, you need to promote it.

Note: as of August 2016 you must have monetization enabled and an approved AdSense account linked to your YouTube account to embed the video on your own website. Learn more.

Also see:  Embed your Stream Now livestream without having to update the video link for each broadcast.

Why embed your livestream video and live chat on your blog?
You can easily share a direct link to your video or Google+ Event, but if you have a blog or website why not point people there instead?  There are some great reasons to do that:

People can not only watch your livestream video and live chat, but also leave blog post comments that remain beyond the broadcastYou can post supplemental information and links related to your livestream for viewersIf you stream using multiple platforms your blog is the place where fans can always find your latest broadcastYour blog i…