Skip to main content

Posts

Community posts flooding your Google+ stream? Keep them in the community.

November 2015: the new Google+ desktop interface no longer uses these symbols. When you join a Google+ Community, the default is for new posts to the community to appear in your home stream. If you are a member of a lot of communities - or just one very popular one - that can flood your stream with posts. How can you tell the source of a post? In the upper right corner there will be a green Google+ Communities symbol . Fortunately it's easy to changes community settings so the posts don't appear in your Home stream. If the symbol in the upper right corner looks like a flame it's a What's Hot and Recommended post. You can also prevent What's Hot posts from appearing in your stream . It's just a few simple steps to disable community posts in your stream on either a desktop computer or the Google+ app:

What's Hot not? Turn off What's Hot and Recommended posts in your Google+ Stream

November 2015: The new Google+ desktop interface no longer has the Explore option.  Are you seeing posts in your Google+ stream from people outside your circles? Google+ may show "Hot" or "Recommended" posts, based on their popularity and what Google thinks are your interests. If you find they aren't interesting to you, you can change your settings so they no longer appear in your Google+ Stream. A "What's Hot" post in your stream will have a distinctive flame icon on the upper right corner. You can always Explore (plus.google.com/explore) on the desktop or tap "What's Hot" in the Google+ mobile app if you want to see those posts again. Also, keep in mind that your circles and the posts you interact with influence which "recommended" posts you see. You may want to remove people from your circles if they regularly post content you are not interested in and you don't want to share content or Hangout with the...

Week in Review - March 28, 2015: Support Local Business, Live Broadcasting apps, Big Blog images

This week's top updates, tips, articles and posts for YouTube Creators, Bloggers, Webmasters, Live Broadcasters, Local Business owners, and people living in the 21st century. Read on for all this week's highlights.

Connect your YouTube Channel to Twitter

YouTube  removed the option to automatically share to Twitter and Google+ on January 31, 2019 . Connect your YouTube channel to Twitter to automatically share your uploads, likes and playlist additions. Note that as of March 2015 it is no longer possible to connect your YouTube channel to Facebook. How to connect your YouTube channel to Twitter:

Week in Review - March 21, 2015: YouTube Cards, move your channel, Google Now Hangouts messages

Spring has sprung! Lots of updates this week, along with articles and tips for YouTube, Google+, Photos, Hangouts, Blogger, AdSense and more. 

Transfer your YouTube channel to a different Google+ Profile or Page

Update June 2016: YouTube no long requires linking to a Google+ Profile or Page. Instead your YouTube channel is either on your main Google Account or a Brand Account . The transfer process works the same way, just think "Brand Account" for every mention of a "Google+ Page" below. Update March 2019: This process still works, but with the shutdown of consumer Google+ on April 2, 2019 , there are only Brand Accounts, not Google+ Pages.  I have updated the text to refer to "Google Account" instead of "Google+ Profile" and "Brand Account" instead of "Google+ Page".  Don’t want to comment on YouTube with your real name? Or is your channel connected to the wrong Google Account or  Brand Account? Now you can move your YouTube channel to a different Google identity. New! YouTube has just launched a channel transfer tool that allows you to move your YouTube channel to or from a Brand Account. YouTube Help Center: Move YouTub...

Week in Review - March 14, 2015: Page or Profile, G+ Communities, 360 Degree Videos

This week's tips, news and articles about YouTube, Google+, Blogger and Hangouts.