Skip to main content

Keep your old YouTube channel icon after linking to Google+

Your YouTube channel icon is like a calling card. It not only appears on your channel, but when your subscribers are browsing your recent activity, next to your comments, when your channel is featured and so forth. Your channel icon represents you on YouTube.

<- My awesome YouTube channel icon


But now you've linked your channel to Google+ and suddenly your channel icon has been replaced by a generic blue image:

Those are the default images for a Google+ Page or Google+ Profile. You can change that default icon to your own custom image. And if you know which box to tick during the Google+ linking process, you won't lose your original YouTube icon at all.

Can you keep your YouTube channel icon when it's linked to Google+? Yes!


When your YouTube channel is linked to Google+, your channel uses your Google+ profile photo.  If you are linking your YouTube channel to a new Google+ Profile or Page, you should have the option of transferring your YouTube channel's icon to Google+ during the linking process:


However, if you do not select the "Keep YouTube photo" option, or that option is not offered to you during the linking process, your channel will end up with a generic Google+ icon or "bluehead".

How do you add a YouTube channel icon when the channel is linked to Google+?


To add a channel icon to your YouTube channel after linking to Google+, all you need to do is upload your custom image or avatar to your Google+ profile directly.

Sign into YouTube and click your channel's current icon in the upper righthand corner. The menu at the top of the page should link to either the "Profile" or "Page" that your YouTube channel is connected to.

If your channel is connected to a Google+ Page, it will look like this:

Click the Page or Profile link, and you will be taken to the connected Google+ Page or Profile. Once there, all you need to do is click the default profile icon to upload a new image of your choice.


Your profile photo will be shown in a circle on Google+ and in a square on YouTube, so you'll want an image that looks good as either shape.

But what if you've lost your copy of your original YouTube channel icon image? Can it be recovered? Yes again!


If you've been using the same YouTube channel icon for years, you may discover you no longer have a copy of the original image you uploaded. Fortunately there is an easy trick to find your old icon.

When your YouTube channel is not linked to Google+, and you upload a channel icon, it is stored by YouTube at a link like this:

http://i1.ytimg.com/i/scGi8k1I_2B9wtipYig-gA/mq1.jpg

The bold red random-looking string of characters in the URL is your YouTube channel's user ID. You can find the YouTube User ID on your channel's advanced settings page (www.youtube.com/account_advanced):



Replace the bold red portion of the URL above with your own channel's User ID, paste it into your browser's address bar. Hopefully that will show you your original YouTube avatar. You can then save the image to your computer and upload to your new Google+ Profile or Google+ Page.

(And as you may have guessed, this means that if your unlink your channel from Google+, your original channel icon should be restored as well.)

More information:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

How to find your shared Hangout photo albums

Update July 2016: Picasa Web Albums will be retired August 1st. You can find your Hangout photo albums in the new Google Album Archive (get.google.com/albumarchive). (Learn more)

Update July 2015: Google+ Photos will be retired July 29th. You can find your Hangout photo albums in Picasa Web Albums (picasaweb.google.com).

Update November 2015: links to Google+ Photos now redirect to Google Photos (photos.google.com). There is no way to access Hangouts albums in Google Photos.

When you share a photo in a Google Hangout chat or take a photo in a video call it is added to a shared photo album that is visible to you and anyone else in the Hangout.

Hangouts photos are not displayed in the new Google Photos (photos.google.com). However you can find your Hangouts albums in Google+ Photo albums or Picasa Web Albums the Google Album Archive (get.google.com/albumarchive).Find shared Hangouts albums in Google+ Photo albumsin your own Google+ Photo albumsin someone else's Google+ Photo albumsFin…

How to Disable or Mute Replies to your YouTube Comments

NOTE October 2015: The option to disable replies is only available for comments you can view on Google+ - posted between November 2013 and August 2015. It is still possible to disable all replies to your comments in the Google+ settings for the Page or Profile connected to your channel under "Who can comment on your public posts?".As YouTube separates from Google+ that option may disappear, and I'll try to keep this post up-to-date.

----------
Do you like posting YouTube comments, but hate the replies? You can easily disable replies - or mute notifications of replies - after posting your comment, as long as you can find your comment post on Google+.

You have two options:

1. Disable replies to all your YouTube comments and Google+ posts in your Google+ settings

2. Disable replies to individual YouTube comments by changing the settings on that post on Google+

Yes, you'll have to visit Google+, but only for as long as it takes to change the settings (and you might disco…

Embed YouTube livestream and live chat on your blog or website

So you're planning a live broadcast - that's excellent! Now that your Live event or Hangout on Air is scheduled, you need to promote it.

Note: as of August 2016 you must have monetization enabled and an approved AdSense account linked to your YouTube account to embed the video on your own website. Learn more.

Also see:  Embed your Stream Now livestream without having to update the video link for each broadcast.

Why embed your livestream video and live chat on your blog?
You can easily share a direct link to your video or Google+ Event, but if you have a blog or website why not point people there instead?  There are some great reasons to do that:

People can not only watch your livestream video and live chat, but also leave blog post comments that remain beyond the broadcastYou can post supplemental information and links related to your livestream for viewersIf you stream using multiple platforms your blog is the place where fans can always find your latest broadcastYour blog i…